The FAIR program is made up of five activities that may be adapted for audiences of any age. FAIR is an experientially based curriculum that encourages an understanding of social injustice (social unfairness), including the "Big 8". The "Big 8" are the components that stereotype, prejudice and discrimination tend to be based on:

  1. Sex
  2. Race
  3. Class
  4. Ability
  5. Age
  6. Ethnicity
  7. Religion
  8. Sexual orientation

In the social justice literature, the Big 8 are generally used as social identifiers which often influence a person's social standing in society.

Download a more detailed version of the BIG 8 POSTER to use in training.

Our FAIR mission is to help participants recognize unfairness in our society related to the Big 8 and to empower them to promote fairness in their everyday lives through respect for themselves and others. We believe the FAIR activities will give participants a chance to explore their thoughts and feelings about how people are alike and different by going beyond the material possessions and physical appearances we, as a society, often judge others by.

This website is designed for those interested in social justice. Our hope is that the information and visual aids provided will offer participants the necessary tools to facilitate the FAIR activities. There is also an activity book in PDF format and a film based on FAIR produced by Cambridge Films, both of which are free on this website. FAIR trainings are also available across the nation. Please contact Dr. Toni Zimmerman via email at for training information.

Suggested activities and ice breakers:

Welcome to the Fairness Fair!